Wednesday, 06 December 2023


More News

CLTA-AITA | Aniruddh, Ashwajit, Vanya and Kritika enter semi-finals

BALBIR SINGH | Updated on Friday, November 04, 2022 09:43 AM IST

CHANDIGARH: Top seed Aniruddh Sangra of Chandigarh and qualifier Ashwajit Senjam of Manipur advanced into semifinals in the boys under-18 singles of the CLTA-AITA Championship Series (CS-7) Tennis Tournament for Boy’s & Girl’s under-14 & 18 at the Sector 10 Tennis Stadium here today.

.Aniruddh defeated Yashasvi Balhara of Rohtak in a thee-setter marathon match 3-6, 6-2, 6-2. After the first set down Aniruddh came back strongly and won the second set 6-2. In the third and final set Aniruddh maintained his momentum with his cool temperament to closed the set and match 6-2 without getting much pressure.

In the another quarterfinals Ashwajit Senjam upset fifth seed Parth Sharma of Punjab 6-2, 6-2 in straight sets easily.

In the boys under-14 singles quarterfinals Haralam Singh upset top seed Gaurish Madaan 6-2, 6-2 in straight sets. Second seed Tejas Khosla and Abhinav Chaudhary also advanced into Semifinals in Boys under-14 singles.
Vanya Arora and Riya Kaushik moved into semifinals in the girls under-18 singles. Vanya defeated Jyotsana Yadav in a one sided match 6-0, 6-1 in girls under-18 singles quarterfinals. Radha Sadhra and Rhoysn William also moved into semifinals. In the girls under-14 singles quarterfinals eighth seed Kritika Sharma upset top seed Ira Chaddha 5-7, 6-2, 7-5 in a three setter marathon match.

Rubani Kaur Sidhu and Sharanya Ramasubramanian lift Girls under-18 doubles title. They defeated Ajenika Puri and Radha Sadhra 7-5, 5-7, 10-7.

Abhinav Chaudhary and Ribhav Saroha defeated Haralam Singh and Ashish Kumar 6-7(5), 6-4, 10-5 in the Boys under-14 doubles finals.


Boys under-18 singles(quarter-finals):

Aniruddh Sangra (CH) [1] bt. Yashasvi Balhara (RH) [8] (Q) 3-6, 6-2, 6-2, Anuj Pal (CH) bt. Yasharth Chaddha (UP) [4] 7-6(5), 6-3, Arntya Ohlyan (HR) [7] bt. Arnav Bishnoi (CH) [3] 2-6, 7-6(2), 6-4, Ashwajit Senjam (MN) bt. Parth Sharma (PB) [5] 6-2, 6-2.

Boys under-14 singles(quarter-finals): Haralam Singh (CH) [5] bt. Gaurish Madaan (CH) [1] 6-2, 6-2, Raghav Sarode (MH) bt. Rabnoor Mann (CH) (Q) 6-2, 4-6, 6-1, Abhinav Chaudhary (PB) [6] (Q) bt. Sachit Thakur (CH) [4] 2-6, 6-3, 6-3, Tejas Khosla (CH) [2] bt. Bhavesh Sharma (PB) [7] 6-2, 6-2.

Girls under-18 singles(quarter-finals): Riya Kaushik (CH) [1] bt. Angelina Singh (HR) 6-2, 6-0, Vanya Arora (HR) [4] bt. Jyotsana Yadav (CH) 6-0, 6-1, Rhosyn William (CH) bt. Ira Chadha (CH) [5] 6-2, 6-2,Radha Sadhra (CH) [2] bt. Sharanya Ramasubramanian (TN) [7] 6-1, 6-0.

Girls under-14 singles(quarter-finals): Kritika Sharma (PB) [8] bt. Ira Chadha (CH) [1] 5-7, 6-2, 7-5, Vanshika Yadav (CH) [4] bt. Khwahish Yadav (CH) 6-2, 6-2, Mannat Awasthi (CH) [3] bt. Rasnum Kaur (HR) 6-3, 6-3, Rhosyn Willam (CH) bt. Ajenika Puri (CH) [2] 7-6(5), 6-1,

Girls under-18 doubles (final): Rubani Kaur Sidhu (PB) Sharanya Ramasubramanian (TN) bt. Ajenika Puri/ Radha Sadhra (CH) [1] 7-5, 5-7, 10-7..

Boys under-14 doubles (final): Abhinav Chaudhary / Ribhav Saroha (PB) [3] bt. Haralam Singh/ Ashish Kumar (CH) 6-7(5), 6-4, 10-5.

Boys under-18 doubles (semi-finals): Arnav Bishnoi (CH)/ Ashwajit Senjam (MN) [3] bt. Yashasvi Balhara / Akshat Dhull (CH) [1] 6-2,6-2, Parmarth Kaushik (CH) / Devansh Parajuli (PB) bt. Love Pahal (CH) / Devvert Singh Kadian (HR) 2-6, 7-6(6), 10-6.